The BEST Mother’s Day Gift

I got the BEST Mother’s Day gift yesterday. It was hilarious. It was timely. It was free.  It was validation.

Let me give you a little background information…

So I’m a stay at home mom, and have been one for almost a decade now. My husband has always been incredibly understanding and supportive of the work involved, but I would say that for the most part it’s been a distant sympathy when I get frustrated. Sort of like, I’m sorry the kids are driving you crazy, but at least you get to spend the day at home instead of in an office.

I have taken a girls’ weekend here and there throughout the years, but usually when I come home and ask how it went, the answer I’ve gotten has been, “No problem, it was easy.”

Which, and maybe I’m alone in this, is a highly annoying answer.

I mean, I’m glad it wasn’t awful, but easy? Really?? Can’t you at least pretend there were some difficulties to make me feel better? You know, like say how tired you were at the end of each day, or comment on the amount of time spent breaking up fights. Even a small comment about how much work it can be. But no, I always get, it was easy.

Now maybe I got a little suspicious the next Monday morning when he would run out of the house for work like his pants were on fire, but mostly I figured the kids saved all of their craziness for me.

But not yesterday. No, yesterday was BEAUTIFUL.

I had a meeting that I needed to be at from about 7am to 2:30pm. The girls all had school, but someone needed to take care of the boy while I was gone. Aaron decided to do some work from home until his dad could get there to take over. No problem, right? After all, it’s just ONE kid.

And then the texts start rolling in…

Inkedtext 1_LI

Inkedtext 2_LI

Inkedtext 3_LI

Inkedtext 4_LI

Inkedtext 5_LI

Inkedtext 6_LI

Inkedtext 7_LI

No need for gifts this year, hon, I already got all I need.

Leave a Reply

